Playing Dragon Age 2: Part 1

Hello friends, I hope you are all great today! I know I am. Just got back from Tesco with a Pizza, Brownies, Onion Bhajis and a bottle of Coke. It’s gonna be a great weekend for me!  I’ll preface this blog by saying there MAY be spoilers throughout, but that’s just how it goes!

 

As I’m sure you all know, DA2 hit the other day in the UK, and I’ve been getting right into it. This is the first in a series of planned blogs about…basically playing through Dragon Age 2! This first part contains the first 6 or so hours in the game, and I’ll tell you now, it’s a lot of side questy bollocks, that’s REALLY FUN. Without any further ado, let’s hit it!

 

So, the game starts off incredibly strong. If you played the demo, you’d know this, but for those of you who haven’t, the game starts off with you taking control of your Hawke character-Male or Female, and you can either play a warrior, a mage, or a rogue. Immediately, the combat feels a lot tighter that DA2. It’s hard to clarify exactly what this is, but it just feels a lot more (sorry) visceral. The hits really feel like they’re connecting. Whether or not this is due to that horrible “Excessive gore” feature (Note to self: turn this off when I go back on…), but playing it as the warrior class, the mighty blow skill and every other just feels meaty as all hell.

You also have to fight above your bracket…

So from here, you realise it was all a dream. Sorry, I mean a flashback. The story is told through the eyes of Varric, a dwarf who (Hold onto your butts) was born on the surface, has no beard, and uses a crossbow. Mother of GOD  He is retelling the story about the hero of Kirkwall (presumably your character), and the narrative contrivance of the game seems to be that you’re reliving your life through his flashbacks, and it’s a pretty cool little plot device so far.  I’ll point out at this point that I’m playing on the PC, and for a PC that is running the game in DX9, on medium, with a pretty modest rig, the game looks pretty stunning. I don’t  know if it’s the art shining through, or the fact I’ve been playing nothing but God Hand and Pokemon White for the last week, but hot damn does it look good.

 

I should note that there are a few familiar faces that pop up here and there. Annoyingly, I couldn’t import my save, as you need to have the original Dragon Age: Origins installed, which is a bit of a piss take, but out of the three pre-determined endings, there was one that I felt was pretty similar to mine.

My main quest at the moment seems to be to collect 50 gold pieces, so that I can buy my way onto an expedition into the Deep Roads (Oghren cameo anyone?), and to that end, I’m just kind of doing odd jobs to make ends meet. Don’t take that as a bad sign though, the side quests so far have been incredibly satisfying. I’ve arrested a corrupt captain of the guard, saved an elven girl from a Quanari madman, and basically just trawled my way all over the shop, killing everyone in my path. Having such a mage focused early game so early on however, is a bit of a pain in the arse. I can currently pick (aside from my warrior tank) from 1 rogue, 1 warrior (another tank -_-) and THREE mages. I’m rolling with the rogue, and 2 of the mages, because I need a healer to keep me up!  That’s not to say that the game is perfect so far, but my niggles are only superficial. Not being able to buy image altering armor for anyone but yourself is kind of dumb, and EVERYTHING being made for Hawke is a bit stupid. But so far, the game is superb. I’m about to jump back in, so I’ll leave you with some other general pictures and stuff I’ve taken so far!

 

Truly, this is the age of great beard technology.

Thanks for reading if you got this far. Are you playing it aswell? I’d love to know how you’re getting along. Is there anything you’d ilke to see, or have me discuss in the next blog post? Much love!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

